Sour (Demo)
Dead By 1998
Evil Tears
Sphere of Glass
The Unwilling
Lucy In The Sky
Wrist Twister
Three Steps
The End of Me
My Psychiatrist
Devil Monkeys
Swept Away (Live)
Riverboat Queen (Live)
Megadeth Interview

Who Was Fatal Opera?

To a number of people Fatal Opera is still unknown; this germinating quintet full of profound musical messages that to people verge on a so far unseen revolutionary aspect - a projecting out against traditional systems - was assembled by former Megadeth drummer Gar Samuelson.

It was Gar who was responsible for the indescribable unique outflow for the earlier Megadeth days that undoubtedly outshined every other band. To many Megadeth fans this "Peace Sells" era represented the musical highlight of the Megadeth career that should end up with Gar Samuelson's and Chris Poland's withdrawal from the band atttributed personal animosity between them and Dave Mustaine.

It reflected a reciprocity: Gar and Chris quit due to financial absurdity, at the same time Dave fired them. Fact is that Megadeth lost with the two jazzy based background the crucial crux which in the end wasn't tragic - Gar should make a fascinating return with his new 'Guru Metal' creation Fatal Opera that has its residence in Florida. After the recording, Billy Brehme should join as a second guitarist to complete the line-up.

Fatal Opera - tracing an independent musical taste - finally found in 1994 in the German record label Massacre the suitable partner to release their debut CD in February 1995. This self-titled debut achieved great and hopeful resonances in mags as well as in fanzines that among others described Fatal Opera as a "musical firework".

Shortly after the release, Dave Inman left the band out of musical differences to form his own band In Man. A huge recommendation to keep track with!

In Andy Freeman as a replacement, Fatal Opera found a very expressive singer, nowhere else to find; their second album "The Eleventh Hour" was released in 1997 that undoubtly is a crucial reply to ordinary and mediocre bands. All of the fourteen songs reflect musical unpredictability, wrapped in countless innovation and always covering the progressive and powerful rhythms in the right shot.

Fatal Opera Sound

A musical unity, in European magazines labeled as an "outstanding Power/Progressive Band with great resonances." They absorb many different musical atmospheres with an incredible versatility! Thus hard to define, but somewhere between Heavy/Thrash Metal with a progressive touch!

After recovering from the past, Gar joined forces with his talented brother Stew (guitar) and found in Travis Karcher (bass) and Dave Inman (vocals) musicians that stood out from musical mediocrity and represented a first rate quality. In 1993 the band recorded at Gar's home studio their ten song debut that among others also contain a highly explosive interpretation of the Hendrix' cover "Moon Turns The Tides".

"Fatal Opera" 1995
  1. Dead By 1998
  2. Evil Tears
  3. Sphere of Glass
  4. Moving Underground (Bong)
  5. The Unwilling
  6. The Distant
  7. Beaten Path
  8. Overshadowed
  9. Kill 'Em
  10. Moon Turns The Tides

Magazine Reviews

A firework display of energy and power, complex and wealth of ideas, an accumulation of great songs!
-Rock Hard

Accumulated with a lot of power, a damned good feeling for coarse hooks, noble melodies and cool riffs!
-Rock Hard

The band's amazing musicianship and undeniable originality should be enough to satisfy most open-minded metal fans!
-Metal Maniacs

The members technical side is first rate quality and they perform a thrilling play!

The expectataions are high and this album will be no disappointment for fans!

It is a power metal with high expectations and quality, tangled with partly progressive, partly jazzy influences!

Not only the classic power metal is offered, but the band also integrated fusion elements which give the album a very special flair!
-Metal Star

Fatal Opera are suspended between the early Megadeth, Psychotic Waltz and the 70's hard rock...Well done!
-Edge of Time

Straight, aggressive, a small shot of progressiveness, precise realization! Even the Hendrix cover is outstanding and counts to the highlights of the album!
-Break Out

Dave Inman (Vocals); Stewart Samuelson (Guitars); Billy Brehme (Guitars); Travis Karcher (Bass); Gar Samuelson (Drums and Vocals)

"The Eleventh Hour" 1997
  1. Would You?
  2. Nothing Is Everything
  3. Once I Was A Fly
  4. Indiscretion
  5. Inside/Outside
  6. Lucy In The Sky
  7. Wrist Twister
  8. Mindfuck
  9. Dredge (The Truth)
  10. Three Steps
  11. The End of Me
  12. My Psychiatrist
  13. Devil Monkey's
  14. Calling of Lotar

Magazine Reviews

The Eleventh Hour is distinctly more versatile and progressive than their debut and possesses because of the melancholic singer talent also a slight Psychotic Waltz impression... the songwriting should thrill completely Prog and Power fans!
-Rock Hard

The amazing interpretation of Beatles' "Lucy In the Sky"...a cool highly individual album - I didn't expect anything else anyway!

Already with their debut the guys around ex-Megadeth Gar Samuelson knew how to please, but nobody would have predicted that they would knock down so massive with "The Eleventh Hour"!
-Break Out

Every song a total runner!
-Metal Hammer

This time everything is alright, from production to the spirit and I believe Fatal Opera are on their way upwards!
-Edge of Time

Andy Freeman (Vocals); Stewart Samuelson (Guitars); Billy Brehme (Guitars); Travis Karcher (Bass); Gar Samuelson (Drums and Vocals)

"Live In Florida '97 (Unofficial Live Bootleg)" 1997
  1. Guilded Splinters
  2. The End of Me
  3. Wrist Twister
  4. Dredge (The Truth)
  5. Swept Away
  6. Indiscretion
  7. Burning of The Midnight Lamp
  8. Inside/Outside

  1. Riverboat Queen
  2. Changes
  3. Three Steps
  4. Kill 'Em
  5. Dead By 1998
  6. Sour
  7. Would You?

Andy Freeman (Vocals); Stewart Samuelson (Guitars); Billy Brehme (Guitars); Travis Karcher (Bass); Gar Samuelson (Drums and Vocals)

"Unreleased Songs (Bootlegs)"
  1. Changes
  2. Guilded Splinters
  3. Burning of The Midnight Lamp
  4. Not Lost
  5. Riverboat Queen

  1. Slight Return
  2. Sour
  3. Swept Away
  4. Whiter Shade of Pale

Dave Inman (Vocals); Andy Freeman (Vocals); Stewart Samuelson (Guitars); Billy Brehme (Guitars); Travis Karcher (Bass); Gar Samuelson (Drums and Vocals)